What are User Organizations?
User organizations, also frequently just referred to as "organizations," is a feature that allows multiple user accounts to be tied together into one larger "umbrella" entity. An organization is always headed by a single account, the organization owner.
Sub-accounts are limited in their capabilities by a permissions system that controls what they can and cannot do. An organization owner is fully privileged by default (and can essentially "do anything" with the account), including managing the permissions of the sub-users in the organization.
The permissions are managed on a group-level, rather than an individual level, to ensure that it is easy to assign the same permissions to any number of sub-accounts as needed.
In all cases, user organizations are allowed only one net running balance and payment method - it is not meant to be a system for re-sellers to allow their customers access to their Telnyx account directly.
Coming soon! This walk-through will demonstrate setting up your Account/General tab
Configurating the User Organization
The Account/Organization section is located under "My Account". When you click on the top right corner of the portal, there will be a drop down menu and one of the options will be "My Account".
Click on this button below and it will directly get you to the Account/Organization page.
Guide to setting up the User Organization
A non-organization user may start an organization once they are level 1 verified.
Once a user has created an organization, they will be able to send email invitations to others to join the organization as sub members. They will also be able to see and manage any invitations they have sent that have not been accepted.
Invitations are sent to invite people to join an organization. A user, that you want to send an invite to join your organization, must not be signed up with Telnyx already in order for them to be invited.
Invitations can be revoked once sent to prevent using them to sign up to join the organization. (Note that revoking an invitation does not prevent the person from signing up for Telnyx entirely, but if they do sign up, they will be a separate non-organization account like normal.)
Groups & Permissions
Once a sub member has accepted an invitation, you can then proceed to creating a permission group in which they can be added to. In this permission group, you define the permissions the user is allowed.
For example, the below permission group is called "billing permissions" and I have one member assigned to it. I will provide this member with billing permissions, so they can assist with payments, downloading invoices, pricing etc.
As an organization owner, you can delegate the exact permission set required to your sub member based on the tasks they can help complete on your behalf. These are the permission sets available below, with a brief description of what they allow you to do :
Allow sub-users to :
Manage general account preferences such as balance, pricing, auto-recharge, payment method, adding funds, and invoices.
Create/read/update/delete SIP connections.
Manage number (DID) settings/preferences such as Bulk Number Updates, Channel Settings, Deletion, Purchasing, and Telephone Data Integration settings
Manage outbound profile settings by toggling Modify/Read-only/None options.
Use CDR search requests, Usage Reports, and Monthly charge reports
Create new port requests, manage existing requests, and manage port out requests
Sign in as Managed Accounts
Manage Virtual Cross Connect requests
Create/read/update/delete Messaging Profiles
Manage Organization members:
In my example, I have provided my sub member with the following permissions.
The sub member, when logged in, will be able to view the accounts balance, pricing information, modify auto recharge preferences for payments, modify payment methods, add any funds and view start of month invoices for generated from the previous month.
Limitations on ownership
A sub-account cannot "own" most things in the system, such as numbers, connections, outbound profiles, etc. Instead sub-accounts interact with things owned by the organization owner, which is exposed to these sub-users via the organization.
A sub-account cannot have it's own payment information either, it instead performs all payments (if granted the permission to do so) on behalf of the organization owner.
When your sub account does not have permissions, in this instance to view numbers, you will see this general error display. Please contact your organization owner to discuss which permissions you should have on your sub account.
Whilst we try to cover and provide as many permission sets to as many features as possible, sub members have access to the following sections but may see undesired results. This is due to our migration to V2, in which not all our new V2 services are exposed to the organizations functionality. In time, this behaviour will change and sub members will be provided with the relevant permissions but for now, we strongly recommend that sub members leverage the API key of their organization owners account.
Account - specifically General, Organizations and Notifications.
Special Notes on User Organizations
You can only create one organization per account.
If you have sent an invite to a member, you can delete the invitation which will disallow them from becoming apart of your organization but only if they have not accepted the invitation.
We recommend that you only send invitations to people you really want to have apart of your organization so you can delegate certain permissions to them via the permission groups you create.
If they have accepted the invitation and signed up but you don't want them to continue to be apart of your organization please do not give them permissions in any permissions group or remove them from any permissions groups which you have included them in already.
The organization owner should then contact firstname.lastname@example.org requesting that a user be blocked if they do not want that user to be apart of their organization anymore, as technically they would still have access to the above 5 points.
You can't remove an individuals email that an invitation has been sent to, the revoked status is when you send an invitation but then delete it afterward.
They will still receive the email but if they sign up, they will not be apart of your organization. This is as long as you have deleted the invitation, otherwise, if they sign up they will be apart of your organization.
Technical Notes on User Organizations
The way in which sub-users are given the ability to do things on behalf of an organization is through a granted permission, and permissions are always granted to groups. A single user can be in any number of groups, and will always have the net MOST PERMISSIONS possible based on all of the groups they are in.
Permissions come in two types: "category" and "entity" permissions. A category permission is a permission that grants access to a "whole category" of things. For example, a category permission for connections would give members of a group a set of permissions for all connections that belong to the organization. An entity permission is a permission that grants access to "just one" of something.
Please note that in the initial release of User Organizations ONLY category permissions will be present. Entity permissions will be added later in a subsequent release.
Permissions specify how something can be interacted with. The different permissions are:
create permission: the ability to add more of something
read permission: the ability to view something
update permission: the ability to change something
delete permission: the ability to remove/delete something
It is possible to grant permissions to modify something without giving the ability to read it. This will likely result in unintuitive behavior for portal-using accounts, but it may make sense and be useful for direct API users.
As stated above, a user always has the most permissions possible based on all of the groups they are in. As an example, if a user is in a group that has category read permission for numbers, and in a group that has category update permission for numbers, they will have permission to both read and update all numbers for the organization.